Toronto Maple Leafs ahead Auston Matthews acquired the Hart Trophy and the Ted Lindsay Award.

TAMPA, Florida — Toronto Maple Leafs star ahead Auston Matthews acquired the NHL’s Hart Trophy MVP and the NHL’s Ted Lindsay Most Excellent Participant Award on the NHL Awards Tuesday night time.

Matthews, 24, has scored 60 objectives to guide the NHL for the second consecutive season. He set a Maple Leafs franchise file and a single-season file for many objectives scored by an American-born participant. He led the NHL in tie-breaking objectives (44), objectives per recreation (.82) and pictures (348). He was in sixth place in factors with 106 factors, the very best of his profession.

“I believe it is an enormous honor to put on blue and white, signify the town of Toronto and put on the Maple Leaf each night time,” he mentioned. “Each time your title goes down in historical past with a corporation like this, I do not take it as a right.”

Matthews acquired 119 votes for the Hart Trophy, which is voted on by the Skilled Hockey Writers Affiliation (PHWA). Connor McDavid of the Edmonton Oilers completed second in voting, whereas New York Rangers goaltender Igor Shesterkin got here third. Matthews was the primary Maple Leafs participant to obtain the NHLPA Most Excellent Participant Award, which was voted for by the gamers and was first offered in 1971. McDavid and Nashville Predators defenseman Roman Josie completed second behind Ted Lindsey. Matthews grew to become the second American-born participant to obtain the award, together with Chicago Blackhawks star Patrick Kane, within the 2015–16 season.

“I am not going to deceive you, I really feel actually good. It is a particular feeling that my household is right here with me. There are numerous nice gamers on this room,” Matthews mentioned.

The closest vote was for the Norris Trophy, which the PHWA awarded to the NHL’s prime defenseman. Colorado Avalanche defenseman Cale Makar received his first Norris with 1,631 voting factors and 92 first-place votes. Yozi was second (1606) with extra first place votes than Makar (98). The distribution of factors within the poll, which evaluates the highest 5 choices, is 10-7-5-3-1. Makar was named in 195 ballots and Yozi in 194.

Tampa Bay Lightning defenseman Victor Hedman completed third for the Norris.

Each Hedman and Makar will play in Recreation 4 of the Stanley Cup Last on Wednesday night time.

“I really feel that when all is claimed and executed, you’ll be able to get pleasure from (the reward). However so far as I am involved proper now, I type of forgot about it. You will need to transfer on. Clearly, it is a unusual circumstance with (awards) might be offered earlier than the top of the season,” Makar mentioned. “As a staff, we’re in an excellent place proper now. We simply must capitalize on it.”

Shesterkin received the Vezina Trophy because the league’s greatest goaltender as voted by NHL common managers. The opposite finalists had been Jacob Markstrom of the Calgary Flames, who completed second, and Juse Saros of the Nashville Predators.

“It means loads to me,” mentioned Shesterkin, who has simply accomplished his third season within the NHL. “I didn’t give it some thought once I got here to the NHL. However typically you assume that I’ve an opportunity. I did not play within the first preseason recreation in opposition to the Islanders. One small youngster [fan] confirmed me an image of himself and it mentioned “future Vezina Trophy winner”. I believe why not? Now we have a great staff for this.”

Shesterkin led the NHL with a 2.07 purpose common and .935 capturing proportion in 53 video games to guide the Rangers to 110 factors within the common season, the third-highest in franchise historical past. He was nominated for the Vezina for the primary time and joined Henrik Lundqvist and John Vanbiesbroek because the Rangers who received the Vezina for the reason that present standards for the award was set in 1981-82.

Some anticipated him to be a unanimous choose, however Carolina’s Fredrik Andersen, Tampa Bay goaltender Andrey Vasilevsky, and New York Islanders’ Ilya Sorokin additionally took first place.

Detroit Crimson Wings defenseman Moritz Seider received the Calder Memorial Trophy as Rookie of the 12 months as voted by the PHWA. He performed all 82 video games for the Crimson Wings and averaged 23:02 per recreation on the ice, the most effective amongst rookies. He led all rookie defensemen in factors (50), the third most amongst freshman blueliners in 30 years. He led all rookies in assists (43) and powerplay factors (21).

Zaider prompted numerous laughter on the awards ceremony when he talked about that his dad and mom weren’t on the ceremony as a result of that they had simply returned from a vacation in Croatia.

“That they had deliberate their trip and there have been merely no extra days to run away from house. They had been positively watching,” he mentioned. “Very proud to carry one thing (for them).”

Zayder acquired 170 votes for first place. Trevor Zegras, the Anaheim Geese’ multi-goal ahead this season, got here in second with 15 first-place votes. Toronto Maple Leafs rookie Michael Bunting, notable for being 26, completed third within the voting.

Julien BreeseBois of the Tampa Bay Lightning, Chris Drury of the New York Rangers and Joe Sakic of the Colorado Avalanche are three finalists for the 2021-2022 Jim Gregory Basic Supervisor of the 12 months Award. The winner might be introduced on the NHL Entry Draft subsequent month in Montreal.

The NHL Awards had been held at Armature Works in Tampa on the weekend between Recreation 3 and Recreation 4 of the Stanley Cup Finals. The league beforehand introduced a number of awards in the course of the playoffs: Mark Messier NHL Management Award: Anze Kopitar, Los Angeles Kings; Jack Adams Award: Daryl Sutter, Calgary Flames; Invoice Masterton Memorial Trophy: Cary Worth, Montreal Canadiens; Willie O’Ree Group Hero Award: Noel Acton of Baltimore, MD Frank J. Selke Trophy for Greatest Defensive Striker: Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins; Girl Byng Memorial Trophy for Most Gentleman Participant: Kyle Connor, Winnipeg Jets; King Clancy Memorial Trophy for Public Service: PK Subban, New Jersey Devils.

About the author


Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: